This article is for instructors who want to know about the new Courseware Admin features. With Admin access, you can:
- Create custom roles for your institution and edit permissions to best fit your course. You can assign any user to a role you choose, such as a fellow instructor, TA, or IT specialist, and change the role at any time.
- Assign or restrict permissions for editing Course Options, Announcements, the Class Roster, Instructor Resources, the Gradebook, and Assignments.
- Allow access to all courses for select users.
- Choose settings to contribute to a course without being seen in the banner of the course.
- Manage roles, permissions, courses, and users in an easy-to-find, centralized management location in the left navigation panel.
- Search institution users.
- Manage courses created in the institution by copying, sharing, and deleting courses; adding/removing instructors; and changing course ownership.
Watch the video below for a quick overview of some of these features:
Default Admin Role
Note: The default Admin Role cannot be edited, duplicated, or deleted.
The Courseware Admin can view, create, edit, and duplicate all other roles. The Admin role has access to all instructor features, and can set up types of roles with restricted permissions. Admins can set new permissions for the default Instructor role, but the default Instructor role cannot be deleted.
The Admin sidebar “Roles and Permissions” tab on the left navigation panel allows role access. To request Admin role access for your institution, contact your Visible Body Rep or Customer Engagement Specialist.
Admins have access to the Roles and Permissions page, where they can:
- Create and name new roles.
- Add users to a role.
- Edit an existing role.
- Duplicate a role.
- Delete a role (except Admin and default Instructor roles).
Note: If a user is removed from a role, or a role is deleted, that user who had that role will be added back to the default Instructor role.
This feature allows Admins to edit:
- Role name.
- The option for role name and email address to appear in the course banner.
- The option to allow access to all courses in your institution.
- Categories of permissions for the role within the permissions area, including:
- Course Options
- Class Roster
- Course Resources
- Users in this role.
This feature allows the Admin to:
- Search users.
- Confirm email addresses used for login.
- View the number of courses a user is assigned.
- Confirm primary roles.
- View a user’s last login.
With the Manage Courses page, you can view details of all courses at your institution in one place.
On this page, selecting the Manage People icon on the far right allows the Admin to:
- Add users to a course.
- Adjust or assign roles to the users in a course.
- Change ownership of the course.
Note: This feature prevents courses from being permanently deleted from the institution, because ownership must be transferred to another user before the course owner removes themselves from the course.
Selecting the Course Options icon on the far right allows the Admin to:
- Edit course information.
- Download a course copy to the Admin account.
- Send a copy of the course to another user.
- Archive a course.
- Leave a course (see note above about leaving a course).
These options allow others, besides the instructor who owns the course, to complete course customizations.
Need more help?
Check out other support articles or contact our support team!